List of all the IO Game Portals to promote your IO Game

Hey guys, as an IO Game dev I find the #1 source of traffic being game portals, and it’s pretty hard to find portals that ACTUALLY respond to put your game so I’m making this list to help people promote their games, as per my opinion. & experience with them

If I missed any, feel free to reply. I’ll update this post from time to time with any new portals.

Thanks!

Recommended & responds (easiest to start with first):

iogames.space (owned by addictinggames, if ur having issues here/being ghosted DM me, I know a guy who works there)
itch.io
obfog.com
webgamer.io
coolmathgames.com (they have really strict submission rules though)
https://sites.google.com/view/iogames (really popular in schools)

Harder to get a response

iogames.onl
iogamesio.org
wtfgames.io
slitherio.online

REALLY hard to get a response

poki.com (biggest name in webgame industry atm)
crazygames.com (huge playerbase, used to be easier but almost impossible to get added these days)
io.games (non-existent owners?)

Misc / dead sites

iogames.top (fake vote counts, game list from iogames.space)
io-games.io (dead site)

Here is another list of more HTML5 game portals

5 Likes

This post is a work in progress, and I will slowly add more when I remember about them

Thanks for this list! I’m a bit new to the web portal space, having mostly worked on downloadable games, but I started with itch and newgrounds for my io game and although they didn’t bring a ton of traffic they still kicked things off and I was able to release there without waiting for emails or approvals from anyone.

I currently get about 50 players a day via itch, but it’s hard to tell whether that’s from itch itself or if it’s just players being redirected there from my game’s original website.

3 Likes

Can I see the game you made?!

Yeah sure!
https://captainforever.io

If that’s blocked for you, try one of these:
io.captainforever.com
cfio.farbs.org

3 Likes